UCAC has awarded scholarships to children and stepchildren of UCAC members for many years. The members, board and staff of UCAC take great pride in the Scholarship Program and the support the organization provides to students just starting out.

In 2022, UCAC developed a second Scholarship Program.  In addition to our traditional College Scholarships for children and stepchildren of members, we began a new Scholarship Program for students of the Connecticut Technical Education and Career System (CTECS). UCAC is proud to be able to continue to provide support for our members’ children and to be contributing to workforce development in Connecticut as we partner with CTECS to award funds to students pursuing careers in the trades.  Thanks to the generous support of many members, sponsors and community members, we were able to award almost $15,000.00 to graduating seniors in 2022.

Questions about either program may be directed to Barb Dimauro, UCAC Executive Director, by emailing ed@ucac.org or calling 860.631.7473.


Children and step-children of UCAC members are encouraged to apply for a traditional college scholarship between April 1 and April 30, 2023. Applicants must be children or stepchildren of a UCAC member in good standing and be a high school senior preparing to attend college in the fall of 2022. The dollar amount of UCAC’s Traditional College Scholarships varies based on the number of applicants each year and is at the discretion of the Scholarship Committee and the Board of Directors. 

Please note: all applications must be completed in full including the submission of an essay and transcript by the deadline. Students selected will be contacted in early June and are required to attend the UCAC Scholarship Dinner (being held July 19th, 2023) in order to receive their awards.


Senior students of the Connecticut Technical Education and Career System in the following programs are eligible to win a $1,000.00 cash award in 2023.

  • Automotive Collision, Repair & Refinishing
  • Automotive Technology
  • Carpentry
  • Diesel and Heavy-Duty Equipment Repair
  • Electrical
  • HVAC
  • Masonry
  • Mechanical Design & Engineering Technology
  • Mechatronics
  • Plumbing & Heating
  • Precision Machining Technology
  • Sustainable Architecture
  • Welding & Metal Fab

UCAC will award up to thirteen (13) $1,000.00 cash awards to CTECS students in the summer of 2023. Scholarship recommendations will be requested by teachers and department heads at all CTECS schools in April and must be received by April 30, 2023. Selected students will be contacted in early June and will be invited to attend the UCAC Scholarship Dinner (being held July 19th). 


CTECS teachers and department heads will be contacted directly in late March with instructions for submitting scholarship recommendations.

2022 Winners

Alyssa Abbe

Alyssa Abbe is the recipient of the 2022 Robert Wesneski Memorial Scholarship. She was extremely successful both in academics and her dance classes in high school. She will begin studying Biotechnology and Molecular Bioscience at the Rochester Institute of technology in the fall.

Jack Garrity

Jack Garrity is moving on to Fairfield University where he plans to study Management and play on the rugby team.

Jillian Marcotte

Jillian Marcotte will be attending the University of New Hampshire to study Genetics. She is a member of the National Honor Society, Latin Honor Society, and Science Honor Society.

William Tousignant

William Tousignant looks forward to studying Business and Supply Chain Management at the University of Tennessee Knoxville. In his high school career, he was very involved in sports teams such as Varsity Lacrosse and Football.

Marissa Ann

Marissa Latires-Wakefield specialized in Automotive Collision, Repair, and Technology at Ellis Technical High School. She also opened her own detailing business all while maintaining exceptionally high grades.

Aiden Hoyt

Aiden Hoyt attended Vinal Technical High School to study Automotive Technology. He plans to continue his technical training by becoming an ASE Certified Master Technician through the Universal Technical Institute.

Paola Alexandra
Luna Castro

Paola Alexandra Luna Castro focused on learning Carpentry during her time at Platt Technical High School. She is planning to transfer those skills to her future studies at UCONN’S Landscape Architecture program.

Imraan Mohammed Feroz

Imraan Mohammed Feroz attended Kayor Technical High School where he studied electrical. He looks forward to continuing his apprenticeship at Accurate Electrical Contractors while majoring in Construction Management at Central Connecticut State University.

Tiffany Marchand

Tiffany Marchand maintained exceptionally high grades in her electrical studies at Eli Whitney Technical High School, all while volunteering, playing volleyball, and parenting her daughter.

Patrick James (PJ) Seiler

PJ Seiler won the Scholar Athlete Award for his football team at Henry Abbott Technical High School while studying electrical. He has already begun working full-time for New England Electric.

Jeileanys Ojeda

Jeileanys Ojeda studied Mechanical Design and Engineering Technology at Kaynor Technical High School. During her time in high school she maintained a high honor roll status and received several awards for her designs. She plans to study Architecture at the University of Hartford.

Gavin Bryant Carter

Gavin Bryant Carter focused on Plumbing and Heating during his time at E.C. Goodwin Technical High School. He plans on continuing his apprenticeship with Main Enterprises and looks forward to obtaining his master’s license to become a foreman.

John (Jack) Borgersen

Jack Borgersen specialized in Precision Machining Technology while studying at Platt Technical High School. He looks forward to attending Platt’s adult education program to gain more training in CNC machining.

Amiyah Campbell

Amiyah Campbell studied Sustainable Architecture at Bullard-Havens Technical High School. She is OSHA certified and plans on pursuing her career in architecture and eventually becoming a licensed interior designer.

A History of UCAC Scholarship Recipients


Alexia Adams (Woodstock Academy/VMS Construction)
Brooke LaDuke (Cromwell High School/W.I. Clark)
James Vicente (Avon High School/VMS Construction)


Olivia Bates (Mercy High School/Ferguson Waterworks)
John Johnston (Simsbury High School/Talcott View Development)
Justin Marcotte (Woodstock Academy/W.I. Clark) FOUNDATIONS SCHOLARSHP RECIPIENT
Raegan Moore (Coginchaug Regional High School/United Concrete)
Jack Tousignant (Conard High School/Garrity Asphalt Reclaiming)


Ethan Adams (Woodstock Academy/VMS Construction)
Grace Hurlburt (Ellington High School/W.I. Clark)
Owen Lacourciere (Lewis Mills High School/Superior Products Distributors)
Michael Stamm (Northwest Catholic High School/Stamm Construction) FOUNDATIONS SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENT


Avery Garrity (Simsbury High School/Garrity Asphalt Reclaiming)
Lilliana Murdy (Lyman Hall High School/LaRosa Construction)
Alexandra Tousignant (Conard High School/Garrity Asphalt Reclaiming)


Madeline Manfredonia
Eric Mockovak
Riley Shanley